You Can Call Me Forrest.

28 03 2008

So I started running late last year – all in preparation for a half-marathon on April 27th.  I know what you’re thinking: “Who are you and what have you done with Sandy Marks?”  I ask myself those questions a lot.  After all, I am the girl who, at one time, would rather have gone to the movies than hang out outside on a beautiful day.  But I think that’s changed.  At least a little.

To be honest, I’m pretty proud of myself.  I can definitely run 12 miles now without worrying about whether or not I can finish.  I do between 3 and 5 miles twice a week, which is now pretty easy, and then long runs with friends on Saturdays – usually all over DC.  I totally get a kick out of running on the Mall while listening to songs like “Fortunate Son” and other 60’s/70’s protest music.  It’s very cool to imagine all of the people that were standing right under my footsteps all those years ago, taking part in something so cool and admirable.  But I digress.

The only disappointing point in this whole running thing I’m doing is that I’m not really any skinnier or hotter than when I started.  Wouldn’t you think that you’d be totally hot if you were in shape enough to run more than 10 miles?  I think my legs are a bit more solid and firm – my calves for sure.  A lot of the people I run with have found that they can eat whatever they want and drink a ton of beer as long as they consistently run a few times a week.  This has not been the case for me.  But I can say that I have a lot more energy and I’m a lot more willing to go out during bad weather – I started training in the snowy winter and, for some reason, it’s really made me tougher.  The cold doesn’t bother me as much as it used to – but ask this Florida girl if she still feels that way next winter.

The point of this posting is to ask you a question.  Do you care at all about running and fitness-ish stuff?  I’m not by any means someone who is “into” fitness, but I sort of started to blog about this kind of stuff in a different space last August, which is when I made the decision that it was time to start exercising.  It helped me to keep a kind of log of my efforts and see how often I was actually exercising – and then go back and see if I was making any progress.

If I started a blog about trying to get in shape, would you read it?  More than that, would you want to contribute to it?

I seem to know a lot of people who are trying to motivate to start exercising – and it seems like hearing from different people, different levels of effort, and different stories might be fun to read.  It’d be a chance to learn from other people’s successes and failures.  Or ust read and make fun of us!  I’m thinking I’d start a group blog and give whoever would like to participate a  password, etc. – and each person could post something once a week or so.  You could even post video diaries if that would be easier than writing out your thoughts.

What do you think?

Actions

Information

One response

30 03 2008
judith

sure, let’s do it!

Leave a Reply

