Sick.

4 03 2008

Adam brought me a glass of water and a bottle of pills, said lots of sweet things, and headed off to work. Teddy, contrary to the beautiful idea we have of dogs as intuitive and empathetic beasts, doesn’t care at all that I feel awful.

It’s 8:30am and I sit up almost all the way, leaning my back against the headboard. The bed looks expansive. The fluffy white down comforter seems to stretch on for miles. I have to wiggle my toes just to figure out where my legs end. I’m pretty sure this is going to be a long day.

I had to reschedule last night’s book club meeting, which sucks because I’m not sure everyone got the message and I’m worried that someone might have shown up at the restaurant anyway. Plus, this is the second meeting that’s had to be moved – the second of two.

Cecilio, the guy who stopped our ceiling from falling in and installed recessed lights, was supposed to come finish the job this morning, but Adam called him for me and told him not to come until tomorrow. Unless he wants to catch the plague.

I’m supposed to go meet with SEIU tomorrow – I’m going to wait to see how I feel this afternoon before I reschedule that. Oh – and then there’s this weekend.

Bonnie, my younger step-sister, is getting married this weekend. Which is a big deal – not only for Bonnie, but for Jim, too. I have a hot new dress to wear and a Thursday night plane ticket to get there. And – bonus – Jeffy and Michelle had baby Xander on the 27th, so the plan is to see them, too. Tayler and Jaime found out that their second is a girl, and, as always, we want to see them, too. Plus, David and Heidi finally decided to take the plunge, and we’re excited to celebrate with them – and the Gerbers, who will be in town. So there’s a lot happening in Florida and lots of reasons to head down there this weekend. Too bad my fever keeps hitting 103 degrees.

I promise to post all about the ceiling, our cruise [oh yeah – did I mention we just returned from a week-long Caribbean cruise, during which my parents dog/cat-sat and supervised the rebuilding of our living room ceiling?], Baby Xander Greenwald, David’s impending nuptials, and more. But first I need to rest.

hammockI really want to go outside and get some fresh air. My mom and Jim got us a new hammock after I broke the last one. [Yeah. That was a self-esteem boost.] I just haven’t been able to convince myself to get out of bed.

I just took my 1pm dose of Tylenol. I’m still waiting for the results of yesterday’s blood tests – although they apparently only call you if the test is positive for something specific. Like mono. I may call them later, though, because I’m dying to find out what the problem is and whether or not the Z-pack that was prescribed for me is going to work. I really want to go to Florida. But I also don’t want to smite my friends and family. I guess we’ll see what happens!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

